Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences – Department History

Department of Economic and Social History – Prof. Dr. Jan-Otmar Hesse & Prof. Dr. Sebastian Teupe

Print page
Children Holding Signs During the Great Depression, St. Paul 1937. Minnesota Historical Society;
From top left clockwise: BASF Werk Ludwigshafen 1881; Construction of the „Käfer“, VW-Werk, Wolfsburg (1973), Bundesarchiv, B 145 Bild-F038788-0006

 
Welcome to Economic and Social History at Bayreuth University!

Economic and Social History as a discipline investigates long term processes of transformations in the economy, the organisation of production and division of labor, the meaning of money and financial markets, the role of the state as well as the values, norms and attitudes of people toward the economy. At the chair for economic and social history we focus on the history of the "modern economy" since the "Industrial Revolution" of the 18th century.

Our current research is about the history of the Federal Republic of Germany in the global economy, questions of economic inequality in historical perspective, a history of saving, a social and economic history of money illusion, crime, entrepreneurship and institutional change as well as the history of economic thought.

For B.A. (bachelor) level students (Europäische Geschichte, Economics, Internationale Wirtschaft und Entwicklung, Philosophy & Economics) we offer lectures in German language on German, European and North American social and economic history as well as seminars on specific subjects of the field. Our M.A. (master) level classes are English-taught. Next to introductory "Foundations"-Modules we also offer seminars on the methodology of economic history, organized together with the chair for quantitative economic history (Prof. Dr. Sebastian Till Braun) at the faculty for law and economics.


Master Programme History & Economics

Important: The admission to the MA History&Economics is closed for 2019. We received 324 applications. All invitations for admission interviews have been sent out. Because of the large number of applications and due to holiday season in Germany, it will take some weeks before all notifications have been processed.

  • Apply here.
  • Here you can find further information about the programme.
  • Here you can download our flyer for a quick overview.
  • Here you can download our brochure for more information.

Webmaster: Univ.Prof.Dr. Jan-Otmar Hesse

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Contact

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Kulturwissenschaftliche Fakultät – Fachgruppe Geschichte

Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte – Prof. Dr. Jan-Otmar Hesse & Prof. Dr. Sebastian Teupe

Seite drucken
Children Holding Signs During the Great Depression, St. Paul 1937. Minnesota Historical Society;
From top left clockwise: BASF Werk Ludwigshafen 1881; Construction of the „Käfer“, VW-Werk, Wolfsburg (1973), Bundesarchiv, B 145 Bild-F038788-0006


Willkommen auf den Seiten der Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte!

Die Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte beschäftigt sich mit den langfristigen Transformationsprozessen der Wirtschaft, der Organisation des Produktionsprozesses und der Arbeitsteilung, sowie der Bedeutung von Geld und Finanzmärkten, der Rolle des Staates und den Werten, Normen und Einstellungen der Menschen in Bezug auf die Wirtschaft. Am Lehrstuhl werden vor allem die Transformationsprozesse der „modernen Wirtschaft“ seit der „Industriellen Revolution“ des 18. Jahrhunderts in den Blick genommen.

In der Forschung beschäftigen wir uns derzeit mit der Geschichte der Außenwirtschaft in der Bundesrepublik, mit Fragen von ökonomischer Ungleichheit in historischer Perspektive, dem Sparverhalten ökonomischer Subjekte, soziologischen Aspekten der Geldillusion, illegalem Unternehmertum und institutionellem Wandel sowie mit der Geschichte des ökonomischen Denkens.

Im Studium für den BA-Bereich (Europäische Geschichte, Economics, Internationale Wirtschaft und Entwicklung, Philosophy & Economics) bieten wir deutschsprachige Überblicksveranstaltungen zur deutschen, europäischen und nordamerikanischen Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte an sowie Seminarveranstaltungen zu klassischen Spezialthemen des Faches. Das Masterstudium wird ausschließlich englischsprachig unterrichtet und umfasst neben einführenden „Foundations“-Modulen auch Veranstaltungen zur Methodik der Wirtschaftsgeschichte, die zusammen mit der Professur für Quantitative Wirtschaftsgeschichte der RW-Fakultät (Prof. Dr. Sebastian Till Braun) organisiert werden.


Neuer Master-Studiengang History & Economics

Seit dem WS 2016/17 läuft der neue Studiengang "History & Economics". Das Bewerbungsportal ist freigeschaltet. Aktuell können Sie Bewerbungen für das WS 2019/20 einreichen.

  • Bewerben Sie sich hier.
  • Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zum Studiengang.
  • Hier können Sie unseren Flyer zum Studiengang herunterladen.
  • Ausführlichere Informationen erhalten Sie mit unserer Broschüre.

  

Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Univ.Prof.Dr. Jan-Otmar Hesse

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog